top of page

Self-Reflection Assessment

Improving Speaking for ESL Students Through Self-Reflection

Below you will find some checklists for different speaking tasks you might use in the ESL classroom.

1. Begin by choosing one to focus on for that lesson and put the checklist up on the board before beginning the speaking task.

2. Ask the students to discuss why each is important (for example: Why is it important to brainstorm words and phrases in English before speaking?).

3. Tell the students to choose two to focus on for the speaking task.

4. As they are speaking, avoid correcting or giving any feedback. Since they will be assessing their own speaking at the end of the lesson, it is better if they do not receive any feedback from you. However, if you feel a student is really struggling, you could help by giving examples or prompts.

5. At the end of the speaking task, draw the students' attention back to the board and ask them to work in groups. They should spend a few minutes reflecting on their OWN speaking, not their peers' speaking.

6. Ask them to identify a strength and an area for improvement.

7. As a follow up, they could identify how they could improve for the next lesson.

Self-Reflection Checklists

Fluency Checklist:

Did I…

  1. Brainstorm words and phrases in English before speaking

  2. Give reasons and examples to support my opinion

  3. Ask myself WH- questions to give more details to my story

  4. Ignore my grammar/vocabulary/pronunciation

Accuracy Checklist:

Did I…

  1. Brainstorm words and phrases in English before speaking

  2. Use the best grammar/tenses to express my meaning

  3. Use the vocabulary from this week

  4. Correct my own mistakes

Conversation Strategies Checklist:

Did I…

  1. Support my ideas with examples, reasons, and/or anecdotes

  2. Ask my group members questions

  3. Show interest in what others were saying (eye contact, body language, phrases)

  4. Connect and relate to what others were saying

Seminar Discussion Checklist:

Did I…

  1. Support my ideas with facts/statistics/evidence

  2. Use formal and academic vocabulary (including transition words and phrases)

  3. Ask other group members to participate when necessary

  4. Play the devil’s advocate when necessary

  5. Politely interrupt when necessary


Recent Posts
Connect
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
bottom of page