top of page

Meditation and Teaching (Blog Post #5)

After reading Teaching as Contemplative Professional Practice, I realized there is a very unique opportunity for a meditation practice to overlap with one's teaching practice. Personally, I meditate every day for about 10-15 minutes using an app called Headspace. This app has allowed me to develop a mindfulness practice that has affected many areas of my life. I'm better able to respond to situations as opposed to simply reacting. I also feel like I'm making choices and living a life that is more aligned with my values.

I think the benefits I've gained from this app have definitely affected my teaching practice. Particularly, it has allowed me to observe without judgement and respond to the situation in a way that is thoughtful and kind. This has allowed me to build stronger relationships with my students.

What I think would be really great is if this app created mini meditation packages for particular jobs. Although the principles of a mindfulness practice wouldn't change very much from job to job, there may be more "buy in" from school boards and teachers. The app costs around $20 dollars a month but it would be great if the owner developed promotions for schools or offices so that everyone could use the app for a much lower price. It would be a great perk, kind of like a gym membership!


Recent Posts
Connect
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
bottom of page