top of page

Making Time for Reflection (Blog Post #7)

Questions to reflect on:

1. What did I enjoy about this course?

2. What was the most interesting thing I learned?

3. What do I want to research or look into more after this course ends?

4. How can I use what I learned in this course to improve both academically and professionally?

5. Did I learn anything about myself or others in this course?

1. What did I enjoy about this course?

I really enjoyed the topics within this course, from philosophy all the way to gender (my favourite topics!). I also liked the freedom to choose what I read and the ability to relate to that text in my own way (while also following set guidelines). The other great thing is I made some practical outputs that I can actually use in my professional context (the Statement of Philosophy and our portfolio). This makes it more rewarding because I can continue to use these outputs and improve them throughout my career.

2. What was the most interesting thing I learned?

I found it very fascinating that there is a field called "History of Education" and how this field differs, and relates to, the fields of history and education separately.

3. What do I want to research or look into more after this course ends?

I want to read more about how to teach and lead others to be more creative and innovative. I'd like to combine what I learned in this course with the Organizational Leadership course to find a way to "lead others creatively".

4. How can I use what I learned in this course to improve both academically and professionally?

This course helped me frame my own philosophy of teaching in such a way that I can continue to build and expand upon my own understanding of teaching. I would like to continue to define my own views of teaching, learning, innovation, and creativity without holding on too tightly. By this I mean, I'd like to be flexible when new definitions arise or when I realize my philosophy may not serve to benefit anyone but myself.

The other thing I want to do with what I've learned in this course is to find a way to connect my passion and knowledge of mindfulness with teaching. It seems there is a connection between the two and I'd like to further pursue this.

5. Did I learn anything about myself or others in this course?

First, I learned that it is okay to open up and be vulnerable, even in an academic or professional setting. The boundaries and walls we build only serve to separate us. By opening up about my story, I felt more honest in my connections with my peers. Our stories affect how we see the world and so they are important. I loved reading my peers stories and even thought of some of them while reading the course material. The "My Life as History" brought all of these people on their computers to life. It made me feel more connected to them than in any other course. I am very grateful for that! :)


Recent Posts
Connect
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
bottom of page