top of page

Technology- Online Language Learning (Blog Post #2)

After my first blog post, I started to think about learning a language online (or independently). My only experience learning a new language has been by teaching myself. I studied Italian for about a year using textbooks and chatting with an Italian from CouchSurfing. When I went to Italy, I could hold a relatively decent conversation. This was before I became a teacher and learned how to be a better student.

I studied Portuguese on my own as well, referring to textbooks and YouTube videos. With the resources I had, I improved my vocabulary and learned a few grammatical rules. However, it wasn't until I decided to get a tutor that I noticed a dramatic improvement within a few weeks. I found I was more motivated, less overwhelmed, and more organized.

Over the years, I've had a lot of experience with independent studying. I think my personality works very well with online and independent learning. This is where my confusion is: if I was so successful with online programs and courses, why couldn't I recreate that structure and atmosphere for myself? If I can teach others how to learn English, why can't I teach myself to learn another language using the abundance of resources we have online?


Recent Posts
Connect
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
bottom of page